Whiskey plates are significant since they may provide law enforcement officers with a reason to stop your vehicle for a petty offense. The law in Minnesota still says that the police can stop any vehicle displaying whiskey plates for no reason, however the Minnesota Supreme Court has held that the law is unconstitutional and that and that the police still need a reasonable articulable basis to stop a vehicle, even if they are displaying whiskey plates.
If you have Whiskey plates You need to be very careful driving around bar closing time and be aware that if you are driving even 1 mile per hour over the speed limit that grants the police reason to stop you.
If this is your second DWI within 10 years, or 1st DWI test over 0.16, you need to be aware that every vehicle you drive will require whiskey plates
WHERE DO I GET WHISKEY PLATES?
Go to your local license bureau and be prepared to pay $100 per vehicle for the special series plates. Most license bureaus have them in stock.
HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO HAVE WHISKEY PLATES IN MINNESOTA?
The law requires you to have whiskey plates for 1 year past your next renewal period. This means if you just renewed your plates you may have them on for nearly two years.
I REALLY DON’T WANT THEM…IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO?
There are sometimes things your attorney can do. You have two options: (1) is to file a request for administrative review. This can be done anytime while you have special series or “whiskey” plates on your vehicle. (2) is to request a judicial review of the license plate seizures, this has stricter time limits and unlike the administrative review which is free, the judicial review requires a civil filing fee (about $350).
DO I HAVE TO GET THEM ON ALL MY CARS?
Yes. Any motor vehicle where you are the titled owner, which includes motorcycles as well as off-road vehicles.