Work Permits

What is a Work Permit?

In Minnesota, a work permit is a drivers license granted with conditions for individuals whose driver’s license has been revoked following a DUI or DWI conviction. Minnesota’s work permits have very specific limitations, which might include how many hours a day you are allowed to drive, where you are allowed to drive to and for what reasons. In most cases, the permit specifies that the holder is allowed to drive only to and from work, but other conditions may be added depending on your specific situation.

How Can I Get A Work Permit?

First, you need to find out whether or not you are eligible for a work permit. You should discuss this with your DUI / DWI lawyer. Your attorney will review your case and, depending on various factors such as the severity of your conviction and whether or not this was your first offense, determine whether or not you are eligible. If it is determined that you are eligible, here are the steps to follow in order to make the request:

1. Go to your local Driver’s License Testing Bureau.

2. Pay the $680 driver’s license reinstatement fee.

3. Take the driver’s license test (Chapter 6-7). Obtaining a work permit requires you to take the written portion of the driver’s license test on a computer.

4. Request your work permit, also known as a limited license.

5. The Drivers License Testing Bureau will then ask you to call the Department of Public Safety. This is to determine when and where you can drive, as well as any additional limitations and conditions will affect your work permit.

6. You must then wait the required waiting period.

How Long Must I Wait Before Being Granted My Work Permit?

In Minnesota, the required waiting period to be granted varies as it depends on the specifics of your case. In most cases however, individuals requesting a permit are required to wait at minimum 15 days before being eligible for a permit, or limited license.

 

Rosengren, Kohlmeyer & Hagen Law Office Chtd. | 507-625-5000 | rokolaw.com